Skip to main content

About Us

Uptane is an open software update strategy that was initially conceived and developed in partnership with OEMs and suppliers within the automotive industry. Today, the Standard continues to evolve based on the direct input of current users and new adopters, from automakers to newer implementers in fields like robotics, industrial controls, and more.

This document covers Uptane's governance and honors the many individuals who have played a role in developing the Standard or submitting industry Best Practices for deploying the framework.

Uptane as a non-profit entity

In July of 2018, Uptane was officially adopted into IEEE's Industry Standards and Technology Organization (ISTO) as the non-profit Uptane Alliance. The goal of the Alliance was to standardize the Uptane open-source software in order to ensure that manufacturers and suppliers follow best practices for updates within the automotive industry.

After releasing v1.0.0 of the Standard, Uptane formally affiliated with the Linux Foundation as a Joint Development Foundation project. As Joint Development Foundation Projects, LLC, Uptane Series, the project is overseen by a Steering Committee, and is governed by a set of bylaws. The Steering Committee members are:

  • Justin Cappos of NYU Tandon School of Engineering
  • Ira McDonald of High North Inc.
  • Andre Weimerskirch of Lear Corporation and University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute

Project Contributors

Many people have contributed their expertise to this project since its inception, including original equipment manufacturers and third-party suppliers from the auto industry, representatives of government agencies, academics, and members of the open-source community. Here is an alphabetical list of the primary contributors who have asked to have their names, or the names of their organizations listed.


  • Airbiquity
  • Automotive Grade Linux, part of the The Linux Foundation
  • Carota
  • CyberTogether (Israeli Cyber Security Association)
  • Directed Australia
  • EnGIS Technologies
  • Harman International
  • HERE Technologies, formerly Advanced Telematic Systems
  • High North Inc.
  • Lear Corporation
  • LG Electronics
  • NXP
  • NYU Tandon School of Engineering
  • OTAInfo
  • Renesas Electronics
  • Sibros
  • Southwest Research Institute
  • Toradex
  • Toyota
  • University of Michigan Transportation Research Institute
  • U.S. Department of Homeland Security (sponsor)


  • Sebastien Awwad
  • David Balenson
  • Russ Bielawski
  • Akan Brown
  • Josiah Bruner
  • Allen Cain
  • Justin Cappos
  • Gloria D'anna
  • Lois Anne DeLong
  • Vladimir Diaz
  • Tom Forest
  • Chase Garwood
  • Kyusuk Han
  • Trishank Karthik Kuppusamy
  • Philip Lapczynski
  • Sam Lauzon
  • John Liming
  • Daniel Massey
  • Ira McDonald
  • Damon McCoy
  • Akshay Mehta
  • Marina Moore
  • Cameron Mott
  • Dave New
  • Phillip Nguyen
  • Dennis Kengo Oka
  • Jon Oster
  • Christos Papadopoulos
  • Mayank Sikaria
  • Max Suraev
  • Patti Vacek
  • Sam Weber
  • André Weimerskirch
  • Phil Wise
  • David Zage

Uptane Contributors